Intro Blog

Last semester, I became stuck between two options, take 18 credits fall and spring semester or take 16 credits both semesters and take a summer course before the start of my senior year. I decided it was best for my mentality to take the summer course and lessen the work load during the fall and spring. I chose psychology as my summer course because I had taken it my senior year of high school and enjoyed it. I feel this time around the class will be a better experience for me than it was in high school.

When I hear the word psychology, I think of a study of the human mind and how it can affect the behavior. It is hard for me to pick which three topics that interest me and three that don’t because they all seem interesting to me. However, the three I am most interested in studying are: psychological disorders, social psychology, and memory. The three I am a little disinterested in learning about are: therapy, learning, sex, gender, and sexuality.

The one question I have about psychology is, how can I take what I learn in this class and adapt it into my own life by using it to help myself and those around me?

One thought on “Intro Blog

  1. Welcome to the course Kirsten! I think you made the right choice taking a summer class to save yourself some stress during the regular academic year. Hopefully you’ll enjoy the class as well. Having a background in psychology should make it easier to digest the material, so you’ll have a leg up. That will be helpful since we will be moving fast to finish the course in 6 weeks. I’m glad so many of the topics for the class interest you; personally I think they are all fascinating, but I’m a little biased. I try hard to make the material we learn directly applicable to your everyday life, so you’ll have to tell me at the end of the semester how well you’ve been able to make those connections. I look forward to getting to you know better over the next 6 weeks!

    Like

Leave a comment